Open House

A tiny glimpse into my tiny world.

The Reading Room: The Little Shop In The Big Woods

20131231-160636.jpg
I started an experiment this year to see how profitable a little online used book shop could be for me. My goal was to make more money than I spent and to only sell books that I’d want to own. I didn’t know if it would be easy to find enough books to run a store or if it would be difficult to set aside time to do such a thing. But I wanted to give it a try.

And my little experiment worked! And it was more fun than I thought it would be. I found so many adorable books and sold them to sweet people around the world. I’ve gotten some very sweet feedback, too, from people who’ve been reunited with treasured editions from their childhoods. I also found a lot of funny notations and ephemera in the books I listed. And I learned about so many great children’s book illustrators too.

So this year, the goal is to find and sell more books. And maybe I’ll start to share with you some of the funny things I find in the books. In the meantime, if you just want to see my collection of listed book covers, you can follow my Tumblr!

And, of course, while I have your attention, I’d like to remind you that vintage books make great gifts!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
