Open House

A tiny glimpse into my tiny world.

The Music Room: River Man Radio Hour, Vol. 3

538106512_e046c2a092_z

This is my second Father’s Day without a father, so I’m borrowing a mix tape from my father. He loved music and made mixes for every occasion. A few years ago, he put together a collection for the family to celebrate fathers and parenthood. So this mix is a cleaned up version of that. It’s a nice introduction to my dad and it reminds me of him and his humor and sentimentality. What songs remind you of your dad?

Tracklist:

Eddie Fisher – Oh My Papa
Harry Belafonte – God Bless the Child
Carousel Soundtrack – Soliloquy
Chad Mitchell Trio – Marvelous Toy
The Fantastics – Plant a Radish
Reba McEntire – The Greatest Man I Never Knew
Merle Haggard – Daddy Frank (Guitar Man)
Richard Burton – How to Handle a Woman
Martina McBride – In My Daughter’s Eyes
Carousel Soundtrack – When the Children are Asleep
Elvis Presley and the Jordanaires – Old Shep
Merle Haggard – A Working Man Can’t Get Nowhere Today
Mary Poppins Soundtrack – A Man Has Dreams
Riders in the Sky – That Silver-Haired Daddy of Mine
John Prine – Hello in There
My Dad – Marvelous Toy

River Man Radio Hour, Volume 3: Father’s Day by Hazelcatkins on Mixcloud

2 comments on “The Music Room: River Man Radio Hour, Vol. 3

  1. jainabee
    June 27, 2013

    How strange it was to have my very first Father’s Day (that I can remember) WITH my father. I know him yet I don’t know him at all. The only songs that’ve ever reminded me of him were “Good Vibrations” and “Lay Lady Lay” because my mother told me he dedicated those songs to her. Now I’ve learned he listens to lots of classical music, so I sent him some Glen Gould.

    I’m loving this mix and Mixcloud and am inspired to explore the possibilities.

    • hazelcatkins
      June 27, 2013

      I was secretly celebrating your reconnection, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2013 by in The Music Room, Uncategorized.
