Open House

A tiny glimpse into my tiny world.

The Music Room: River Man Radio Hour, Vol 1

vintage girl and dog tree valentine

Track list:

Nick Drake – River Man
Loudon Wainwright III – Your Mother and I
Linda Thompson – Dear Old Man of Mine
Richard Thompson – Uninhabited Man
Gillian Welch – Orphan Girl
Kate & Anna McGarrigle – Come A Long Way
Lillian Short – The Fatal Wedding Night
Kiddy Catkins – I Still Miss Someone
Andy Partridge – All I Dream of Is A Friend
Paul Simon – American Tune
Robert Wyatt – Raining In My Heart
Sufjan Stevens – Futile Devices
Joy Division – Exercise One
The Kinks – This Man He Weeps Tonight
Madness – Never Knew Your Name
The Cascades – Little Betty Falling Star
The 6ths – All Dressed Up In Dreams
Squeeze – Another Nail In My Heart
The Idle Race – Please No More Sad Songs

Every month, I hope to make a little playlist to share with you. I used to be a deejay, so I see it as the equivalent of a radio show that you can listen to again and again! I call it the River Man Radio Hour, because I plan to put together an hour of music each month and because I think Nick Drake’s River Man is a perfectly wistful sad song and most of my playlists will try to evoke that same sort of longing. If you can think of any music that you think I should add, then please contact me through the comments section!

My first mix started as an anti-Valentine mix for those who don’t enjoy the holiday. There are 2 divorced couples, a little bit of pining, and a lot of broken hearts. Hope you enjoy it!

Please do support the artists, too. They all make beautiful music and the ones who are still alive are still touring and still selling merchandise on their websites!

You can listen to the mix here:

River Man Radio Hour, Vol 1 by Hazelcatkins on Mixcloud

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
